Professor Jaeyoung Byeon Named “DI Award for Excellence in Mathematics 2022,” and Professor Yeonjong Shin Receives “Sang San Young Mathematician Award 2022” from the Korean Mathematical Society

The Korean Mathematical Society (KMS) hosted its annual meeting on October 18-21, 2022 at the Korea Institute of Science and Technology Center in Seoul, Korea. It also organized an international conference to celebrate the promotion of South Korea to the highest status, Group 5, in the ranking of the International Mathematical Union (IMU).

Two faculty members from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at KAIST received awards from KMS during this event.

Professor Jaeyoung Byeon won the “DI Award for Excellence in Mathematics 2022.”

Created and first awarded in 2015 by the support of Chairman Won-Ho Park of DI Corporation, a global semiconductor test equipment manufacturer, the DI Award is granted to mathematicians who have made a major contribution to the advancement of mathematics in Korea with a distinguished record in research.

Professor Byeon specializes in partial differential equations and has published numerous papers in prestigious journals such as Calculus of Variations and Partial Differential EquationsArchive for Rational Mechanics and Analysis, and Journal of Differential Equations.

In addition, Professor Yeonjong Shin was one of the three recipients for “Sang San Young Mathematician Award 2022.”

Professor Shin’s research interests lie in applied and computational mathematics for artificial intelligence, approximation theory, numerical and stochastic optimization, and scientific computing. He has also opened up new frontiers of research in applied mathematics, known as scientific machine learning, for which he has gained international reputation.