2023 MWC Du-myeong Scholarships and Fellowships Award Ceremony

On Thursday, May 4, 2023, the Du-myeong (Two) Scholarships and Fellowships Awards Ceremony of MWC (Miwon Corporation) was held at the Education 4.0 Lecture Room of the Department of Mathematical Sciences at KAIST. Second-year student Kwon Dohyeong received a scholarship of KRW 5 million per year, and Postdoc Choi Jae-Hwan of SAARC received a fellowship grant of KRW 18 million.

The event was hosted by Professor Hwang Ganguk, Head of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, and attended by past beneficiaries, including Kim Taehyun and Park Jun Sur, Kim Jeong Don, Chairman of MWC Holdings, Park SeungBin, Emeritus Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, and Byeon Jaeyoung, former Head of the Department of Mathematical Sciences. This allowed them to make up for the regret of having to proceed in a simple manner during the COVID-19 pandemic.

In particular, at this event, Chairman Kim Jeong Don, the donor, personally presented the certificates of award along with words of encouragement as well as the purpose and background of the scholarship program, making it a more meaningful time.

This scholarship was started with the donation of Chairman Kim Jeong-don, who graduated from the Department of Chemical Engineering at KAIST in 1979. It was established by Professor Park SeungBin, an alumnus of Kim, with the name ‘Two’ in the hope that students who receive scholarships will grow up to be people who give scholarships to their juniors when they enter society, and even further, to practice noblesse oblige. It has been supporting four departments, starting with the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at KAIST in 2015, and the Department of Mathematical Sciences has been selecting and supporting scholarship students since 2020. The ‘Du-myeong Fellowship’ was introduced in 2021 with the hope that the person who receives the research support will be able to give back to more future generations. The target is non-tenured young researchers affiliated with the Department of Mathematical Sciences or research institutions related to mathematical sciences at KAIST, who have demonstrated academic excellence or potential.